Sunday, December 5, 2010

Monday, November 29, 2010

Freelance Whales

This Thursday night there is a Freelance Whales concert at Lincoln Hall. They're a relatively small/new band that Kuph and I both like. Today I had the following gchat status:

"Freelance Whales concert on Thursday. That's my motivation for the week."

Almost immediately after posting this, Kuph and I had the following little chat:


Ryan: what!?
since when?
me: are you stupid?
i bought you a ticket months ago


Here is Kuph's favorite song of theirs for anyone potentially interested in the band in question

Sunday, November 28, 2010

J Mac's birthday

Last night was little J Mac's birthday. Wristband deal as always means too much drinking in a short period of time.

Kuph put his energy into dancing.


Saturday, November 27, 2010

Kuph isn't a dog person

So Kuph has never had a dog. That's fine, a lot of people don't ever own dogs. They're weird as hell, but such people exist. Kuph's lack of basic dog knowledge is completely unacceptable though.

Our weekend roommate/asian, Jeff Wang, sometimes brings his pitbull. This is her:



last time she was over, Kuph and I had the following little chat:


Kuph: What is this? A lab?
Me: You serious?
Kuph: I don't know anything about dogs


No shit.

Friday, November 19, 2010

Hawkeyes

First, I'd like to once again apologize for my lack of progress on this blog. Now that I live with Kuph (and Rudy) I hope to more frequently update this blog.

Recently Kuph hasn't been giving me the best material as he had been what he calls "Responsible Kuph" for some time. To the majority of us, this might as well have simply been "Boring Kuph" as he was training hard for the Chicago marathon and therefore not doing much drinking. Well that paid off well as Kuph ended up not being able to run because he fell down and smashed his head on the floor requiring him to spend a week in the hospital. What a jackass. Anyway, enough about that boring/serious garbage.

With the marathon training a distant thing of the past, Kuph has begun to drink again and back to typical Kuph nonsense of sending me texts which for the most part are just weird. Vampire Weekend lyrics, strings of emoticons, etc, so hopefully future material should be plentiful.

I'll keep this update brief as I don't want to blow my load too much on my return to this blog. We'll start with a couple gchat convos. The first one was provided by a young Filipino boy named James 'J Mac' Macatangay:

James: nice, yeah i came down with a cold/flu yesterday....
Ryan: ah you'll be all right
I thought earlier this week that I had appendicitis/kidney stones
i was dumb. it was nothing of course


No doubt about it, he really was/is dumb.

The next gchat convo is my own with Kuph and occurred just today:

Ryan: Chad and I are going to that 4 shadows bar for the Iowa game
finally..an all Iowa bar
JESUS


Kuph has become quite spiritual recently, but that's not my point here. My point is that Kuph didn't go to Iowa and none of his family did either. The kid has zero connection to the school whatsoever, but I'm just nervous he hasn't realized that yet.

While typing this post Kuph and I have been watching the Bulls game (Rose can just plain ball) and Kuph disappeared into his room to emerge with a hoodie and an Iowa tshirt over it and announced, "This is what I'm wearing tomorrow!" What a gay. Said shirt cost Kuph $40 at Nordstrom's this week, yet the same shirt is likely 3 for $1 at any regular store. Kid has some serious issues.

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Long time, no post

It's been a while since my last post, and I don't have a good reason. Kuph has been 'responsible Kuph' which doesnt mean anything at all except he has a job, which is shocking. People can still achieve anything in this country.

Another Gchat update, courtesy of Rudy.

To paint a picture for you, Japan just got knocked out of the World Cup. Rudy is understandably upset. On the other hand, his hair is blond, which is far less understandable.


Gchat:

me [Rudy]: Japan lost
Ryan: damn
me [Rudy]: my life is over
Ryan: haha
Sent at 11:45 AM on Tuesday
Ryan: i should get a manicure


I just don't even know how to deal with this one

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

How is he still single?

Some more gchat Ctrl + C and Ctrl + V:

Ryan: I have to wash my sheets which I peed on

me: please tell me you havent slept on them the last 2 nights....

Ryan: I won't tell you then
but I have
hahaha
I put down a couple towels, don't worry
and I haven't used any sheets for sleeping since it's been hot as hell in here
Sent at 9:31 AM on Tuesday